>The Gospel

>I’ve been reading portions of A Gospel Primer during my devotions lately and have found it to be very beneficial in reminding myself of truths and scripture that affirm these truths. As well it has been a wonderful aid as I seek to preach the gospel to myself each and every day. Here are a few portions that I read this week:

My Daily Need
The gospel is so foolish (according to my natural wisdom), so scandalous (according to my conscience), and so incredible (according to my timid heart), that it is a daily battle to believe the full scope of it as I should. There is simply no other way to compete with the forebodings of my conscience, the condemnings of my heart, and the lies of the world and the Devil than to overwhelm such things with daily rehearsings of the gospel.

My Daily Protection
As long as I am inside the gospel, I experience all the protection I need from the powers of evil that rage against me. It is for this reason that the bible tells me to “take up” and “put on” continually the whole armor of God; and the pieces of armor it tells me to put on are all merely synonyms for the gospel. Translated literally from the Greek, they are: “… the salvation … the justification … truth … the gospel of peace … the faith … and the word of God. What are all these expressions but various ways of describing the gospel? Therefore, if I wish to stand victorious in Jesus, I must do as the songwriter suggests and “put on the gospel armor, each piece put on with prayer.” That God would tell me to “take up” and “put on” this gospel armor alerts me to the fact that I do not automatically come into each day protected by the gospel. In fact, these commands imply that I am vulnerable to defeat and injury unless I seize upon the gospel and arm myself with it from head to toe. And what better way is there to do this than to preach the gospel to myself and to make it the obsession of my heart throughout each day?

All I Ever Need
The gospel serves as the means by which God daily constructs me into what He wants me to be and also serves as the channel through which He gives me my inheritance every day of my Christian life. Hence, it could be said that the gospel contains all that I need for life and godliness. It is for this reason that God tells me to be steadfastly entrenched in the gospel at all times and never to allow myself to be moved from there. The mere fact that God tells me to stay inside the gospel at all times must mean that He intends to supply all of my needs as long as I am abiding in that glorious location.

And finally, from the author’s (Milton Vincent) introduction … “God did not give us His gospel just so we could embrace it and be converted. Actually, He offers it to us every day as a gift that keeps on giving to us everything we need for life and godliness. The wise believer learns this truth early and becomes proficient in extracting available benefits from the gospel each day. We extract these benefits by being absorbed in the gospel, speaking it to ourselves when necessary, and by daring to reckon it true in all we do.”

I pray that I grow in becoming a wise believer who daily extracts benefits from the gospel.

2 thoughts on “>The Gospel

  1. >What a great resourse. Thanks Sarah. It is what I was sharing with a women last night but this was worded so MUCH better. So, I sent it to her today. THANKS for using your time so wisely, Beejee

  2. >This is great, Sarah. I love how he expounds upon the armor of God being the Gospel. Applying this truth alone makes quite a difference in our lives, for sure! Thanks for passing it on, and for being a faithful example of a woman given to godliness, and one who loves and lives the Gospel. Love you – Mom

Leave a Reply

