>Glorious Truths

>Resting in Christ’s Righteousness
The Gospel encourages me to rest in my righteous standing with God, a standing which Christ Himself has accomplished and always maintains for me. I never have to do a moment’s labor to gain or maintain my justified status before God! Freed from the burden of such a task, I now can put my energies into enjoying God, pursuing holiness and ministering God’s amazing grace to others.
The gospel also reminds me that my righteous standing with God always holds firm regardless of my performance, because my standing is based solely on the work of Jesus and not mine. On my worst days of sin and failure, the gospel encourages me with God’s unrelenting grace towards me. On my best days of victory and usefulness, the gospel keeps me relating to God solely on the basis of Jesus’ righteousness and not mine.

Obedience Borne of Romance
To love God with all my heart, soul, mind and strength is the greatest commandment in the Law. If I could simply fulfill this one commandment, I would gladly fulfill all others as a natural matter of course.
So how can I come to love God with all of my being? The Bible teaches that genuine love in my heart for God is generated by an awareness of His love for me, and nowhere is the love of God more clearly revealed than in the gospel. Therefore, preaching the gospel to myself is a great way to keep God’s amazing love before my eyes, so that I might experience its power to produce in me a passionate love for Him in return. Romanced by His love in this way, my increasingly smitten heart will burn to do His will and will feast itself on doing so.
M. Vincent, The Gospel Primer

And from Spurgeon …
…in matters of grace you need a daily supply. You have no store of strength. Day by day you must seek help from above. It is a very sweet assurance that a daily portion is provided for you. In the word, through the ministry, by meditation, in prayer, and waiting upon God you shall receive renewed strength. In Jesus all necessary things are laid up for you. So, then, enjoy your continual allowance. Never go hungry while the daily bread of grace is on the table of mercy.
CHS Morning & Evening 2/14 a.m.

2 thoughts on “>Glorious Truths

  1. >Oh, what glorious truths of the Gospel! It’s the best news we will ever hear. We stand righteous because of the Gospel, any love we give to Christ is because of the Gospel, and we can face every day with grace available, all because of the Gospel! Thanks for these reminders….I am eager to get the Gospel Primer in my hands to read.love your passion for the gospel :)love you – Mom

  2. >Dear Sarah,This is a great Valentine’s Day reminder. Jesus my greatest lover! He provides all that I need to stand before him. I will be forever smitten. I love reading your blog…it is soooooooo encouraging. Love you. Mom Herr

Leave a Reply

