>Spurgeon on Psalms

>I’m enjoying using this commentary on Psalms by Spurgeon, which is a part of The Crossway Classic Commentaries Series.

This morning I was reading and meditating through Psalm 34 and was struck by these verses in particularly.
Psalm 34:1-2
“I will bless the Lord at all times; his praise shall continually be in my mouth. My soul makes its boast in the Lord; let the humble hear and be glad.”

I love what Spurgeon has to say about this …

I will bless the Lord at all times. He is resolved and fixed, I will; he is personally and for himself determined, let others do as they may; he is intelligent in head and inflamed in heart – he knows to whom the praise is due, and what is due, and for what and when. To Jehovah, and not to second causes our gratitude is to be rendered. At all times, in every situation, under every circumstance, before, in and after trials, in bright days of glee, and dark nights of fear. To bless the Lord is never unseasonable. His praise shall continually be in my mouth, not in my heart merely, but in my mouth too. Our thankfulness is not to be a dumb thing; it should be one of the daughters of music. God deserves blessing with the heart, and extolling with the mouth – good thoughts in our rooms, and good works in the world.

My soul makes its boast in the Lord. Boasting is a very natural propensity, and if it were used as in this case, the more it were indulged the better. The exultation of this verse is no mere tongue bragging; the soul is in it, the boasting is meant and felt before it is expressed. What scope there is for holy boasting in Jehovah! His person, attributes, covenant, promises, works, and a thousand things besides, are all incomparable. Let the humble hear and be glad. They are usually grieved to hear boastings; they turn aside from vauntings and lofty speeches, but boasting in the Lord is quite another matter; by this the most lowly are consoled and encouraged …

How easy it is for me to allow my circumstances to effect my gratitude to and boasting of the Lord. What a wonderful reminder that God deserves blessing from my heart, in all circumstances. Regardless of how my day is going and the things which so easily entangle me, I pray that I will remember these truths so that I may boast in the Lord constantly!

One thought on “>Spurgeon on Psalms

  1. >Sarah,What a great reminder from Spurgeon that God is worthy of all praise at all times! May humility be ever on our hearts so that Christ will be our daily boast. Blessing to you, sweetheart.Love~Mom Herr

Leave a Reply

