>God O’er All Forever Reigns

>The Lord reigns, let the earth rejoice. Psalm 97:1
There are no real causes for anxiety as long as this blessed sentence is true.

On earth, the Lord’s power controls the rage of the wicked as readily as the rage of the sea; His love refreshes the poor with mercy as easily as the earth with showers. In all our conflicts and tribulations, we may behold the hand of the divine King.
God is God; He sees and hears
All our troubles, all our tears.
Soul, forget not, in your pains,
God o’er all forever reigns.

In hell, evil spirits acknowledge, with misery, His undoubted supremacy.
Fear not death, nor Satan’s thrusts,
God defends who in Him trusts;
Soul, remember, in your pains,
God o’er all forever reigns.

In heaven there are none who doubt the sovereignty of the King Eternal, but all fall on their faces to do Him homage … all delight to serve Him night and day. May we soon reach the city of the great King!
For this life’s long night of sadness
He will give us peace and gladness.
Soul, remember, in your pains,
God o’er all forever reigns.
CHS, Morning and Evening, 8/12 a.m.

I recently listened to a message my brother Jared gave back in July entitled The Disciple’s Focus. He spoke on anxiety from the text Matthew 6:25-34. It was a wonderful reminder of why I ought not worry or be anxious …

1. My life is more than material.
Not only am I to put off anxiety, but I am called to seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness. My ambitions and goals ought to seek the kingdom.

2. My heavenly Father cares for me.
I have a heavenly Father who cares for me! He knows my situation, will never leave me or forsake me, He cares for me and He died for me … may I be quick to remind myself of these facts when tempted towards worry or anxiety in any situation.

3. Our anxiety accomplishes nothing.
I cannot add a single hour to my life by being anxious. When I worry I accomplish nothing.

I pray that I would be quick to cast my cares on Him, the one who cares for me and sustains me in my every need. When tempted towards worry, may I remember that I have a heavenly Father who cares for me, is compassionate, kind and always faithful. I was meditating on the words to this song by Sara Groves this morning …

Morning by morning I wake up to find
The power and comfort of Gods hand in mine
Season by season I watch Him, amazed
In awe of the mystery of His perfect ways
All I have need of, His hand will provide
He’s always been faithful to me

I can’t remember a trial or a pain
He did not recycle to bring me gain
I can’t remember one single regret
In serving God only, and trusting His hand
All I have need of, His hand will provide
He’s always been faithful to me

This is my anthem, this is my song
The theme of the stories I’ve heard for so long
God has been faithful, He will be again
His loving compassion, it knows no end
All I have need of, His hand will provide
He’s always been faithful, He’s always been faithful
He’s always been faithful to me

Leave a Reply

