>Patience

>The kiddos and I have been flying solo this week as Brian has been in CA on business since Sunday (he returns tomorrow evening… yippie!). As is often the case, our little ones tend to test me a bit more when Daddy is out of town. This week has been no exception. I have been tested much, particularly in having patience. I am thankful to God for much growth in this area of my life, but was freshly reminded this week of the growth that still needs to take place! The biggest challenge for me this week has been bedtime. Instead of taking the typical 10-15 min. to have all the kiddos settled into bed it has been taking between 30-90 min.

Although the girls have had their challenges at bedtime (Sydney seems to think that when Daddy goes away it’s suddenly ok to get out of bed 5 times every night and Hailey enjoys asking me every possible question she can think of right at bedtime) … Justin has been the kiddo to consistently and thoroughly exhaust me. He seems to have a problem (he is a sinner in desperate need of a Savior!) with communicating what it is exactly that he would like … for instance, one minute he wants the blankets to cover him, and the next he wants them off of him … one minute he wants kisses, then when I go to give him goodnight kisses, he decides he doesn’t want kisses (only to protest that he wants them again right as I get ready to leave his room). In moments like these (after the 6th trip back to his bedroom to have him attempt going to bed with a happy heart and without protesting) I am tempted towards impatience. Yet in moments like these, I know that God is being faithful to grow me in tenderly, lovingly and patiently training my children for His glory.

I love what Piper says in the chapter on battling impatience in his book Battling Unbelief.

Impatience is a form of unbelief. It’s what we begin to feel when we start to doubt the wisdom of God’s guidance. It springs up in our hearts when our plan is interrupted or shattered. The opposite of impatience is not a glib denial of loss. It’s a deepening, ripening, peaceful willingness to wait for God in the unplanned place of obedience, and to walk with God at the unplanned pace of obedience – to wait in his place, and go at his pace. And the key is faith in future grace. … the strength of patience hangs on our capacity to believe that God is up on something good for us in all our delays and detours. This requires great faith in future grace, because the evidence is seldom evident.

May God grant me much faith in future grace!

In other happenings this week while Daddy has been away we managed to have a fairly calm week so far … other than Sydney getting the van door shut on her hand and Hailey falling in the creek out back (that’s nothing compared to Justin busting his lip and losing a toenail/breaking a toe during Brian’s last trip!). One evening some girls from church came over to scrapbook with me, and it was a blast having my Mom (and Matt) here with us yesterday to celebrate Hailey’s 5th birthday! We enjoyed some yummy cinnamon rolls for a mid-morning snack in honor of the birthday girl! Then we actually made applesauce for a good portion of the day (we did over 80 quart) … not for me since I already have 55 qt. in my freezer, but for my Mom (who will be sharing with my brother’s and their families). Then later we enjoyed Hailey’s birthday dinner (she requested stuffed shells) together. I picked up a little ice cream cake so that she could have some candles to blow out on her actual birthday, even though the rest of our families aren’t coming until Sunday to actually celebrate! Here are some applesauce (I remebered to take some pics this time!) and birthday girl pics …

My birthday girl … what a big helper!
My shirtless applesauce boy (he got it wet and muddy outside)
Cranking away …
Hailey Joy … 5 years old!
My girly girl … she blew the candles out one at a time!

One thought on “>Patience

  1. >Sarah,Thanks for sharing what God is doing in your heart as well as what is happening with the kiddos. I am equally concerned about both, for they are related! I love you, sweetie, and I am encouraged to see God grow your faith and patience. Love~Mom Herr

Leave a Reply

