>Wondrously Blest Amidst Sorrow

>“The ultimate purpose of the universe is to display the greatness of the glory of the grace of God. The highest, clearest, surest display of that glory is in the suffering of the best Person in the universe for millions of undeserving sinners. Therefore, the ultimate reason that suffereing exists in the universe is so that Christ might display the greatness of the glory of the grace of god by suffereing in himself to overcome our suffering and bring about the praise of the glory of the grace of God.”
John Piper

Yesterday we found out that we miscarried. We suspected this possibility on Tuesday, and yesterday, it was confirmed through bloodwork and through my body naturally showing signs. Although we don’t know why God allowed this to happen, we can be sure that He sovereignly ordained this to happen for His glory and for our good. We serve a God who is good in all that He does.

We are wonderously blest! Among some of the many blessings are …

My husband. I thank God for allowing me to have the privilege of being Brian’s wife. He has been a wonderful means of grace to me as he has continued to point me to the gospel, build my faith and encourage my soul with truths from the word of God. What a joy it has been to find comfort in one another.

Our kiddos. God has graciously entrusted 3 wonderful little kiddos to us and what a joy they are to us. There has been much grace upon them over these past few days, and they continue to make me laugh. Just the other day I overheard Justin ask Hailey how a baby gets out of its Mommy’s belly … she said “it comes out of her belly button.” They have been sensitive in desiring to serve me, allowing me to rest and graciously entertaining themselves at times. They hope that someday we will have news that another baby is in my belly … in the meantime they’re trying to figure out “the special place that God makes a baby come out” (as Daddy put it).

Family and friends. My Mom has been here a couple of days recently and has helped me to stay on top of laundry, cleaning, cooking and giving the kiddos some attention! We have had meals brought to us and have been on the receiving end of much care from our church. We thank God for family and friends who care for us and love us so dearly.

We are wonderously blest! We are grateful to God for using trials in our life to deepen our faith and trust in His sovereign plan and praise Him for who He is.

When peace, like a river, attendeth my way
When sorrows like sea billows roll
Whatever my lot
Thou has taught me to say
It is well, it is well, with my soul

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come
Let this blest assurance control
That Christ has regarded my helpless estate
And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

It is well, with my soul
It is well, it is well, with my soul

6 thoughts on “>Wondrously Blest Amidst Sorrow

  1. >Awww, I’m terribly sorry to hear about your miscarriage. I love the quote by Elizabeth Prentiss in your last post. That is so dear and so true.Peace to you all,Aunt Jo

  2. >Sarah, I heard from your mom that you were doing well, but after reading this I’d say you’re doing great! I hope I can be like you when I grow up. Thanks for providing such a God-honoring example for all of us when things in life don’t go our way.love, Hollis

  3. >Sarah,Your greatest comfort will always come as you saturate your soul with the truth of God. What comfort it brings me to know that you are asking for and receiving from the well of grace. I love you so dearly…but so much more is Christ’s love for you.Mom Herr

  4. >Dear Sarah,I am sorry to hear about your loss and thankfull to read about all the wonderful support around you. It is awesome how you and Brian are turning to God and accepting His provision in your life during this time of sorrow…What a great example to those around you. I have a sense of Peace as I read your post. How great is the Holy Spirit working in you! Love and prayers,Karen

  5. >Dear Sarah,Your mom let me know the other day about your miscarriage. I am so sorry for your loss…you know I somewhat understand. Grateful to God for the grace He’s poured out on you both to see His sovereign hand at work in suffering. He is always good, and will continue to fill your hearts with peace. May you find yourself getting stronger each day, as you’ve been able to rest. Love you!Donna

  6. >Dear Sarah – Well, I just got around to reading your post…3 days after you wrote it, and I cried (again!)..reminded of the steadfast love of the Lord in the midst of suffering and loss. Thanks for helping me keep my eyes on the One who gives and takes away. I so respect you, my dear daughter, and I love you – Mom

Leave a Reply

