>Applesauce Bread

>Our kiddos love applesauce. I pretty much always have some in the fridge, and if we run out then I’m quickly reminded by one of my little ones to please get some more out of the freezer so it can thaw! We have been so blessed to get free apples from Brian’s parents apple trees every year and so our freezer is always stocked with applesauce. And not only do we get free organic apples, but I also get help in making our applesauce! Most years I run out sometime in the summer, but this past year there was an abundance of apples so I had more in my freezer than previous years. It’s been great not having to worry about running out even if the kiddos eat some every day. Of course, I’m sure by the end of summer we’ll be ready to make more!

The kiddos love to just eat plain applesauce, but something else they love is Applesauce Bread … so I thought I’d share the recipe since it’s a quick, easy and healthy snack for little ones! I know it isn’t really the time of the year to be baking with the oven on … but maybe on a cooler day, or a day when you need to use the oven anyway!

Applesauce Bread
~1 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
~1/2 tsp. baking powder
~1/2 tsp. baking soda
~1/4 tsp. salt
~1 tsp. cinnamon
~1/2 tsp. nutmeg
~1/2 c. honey
~3/4 c. applesauce
~2 eggs
~4 T. butter, melted

Mix dry ingredients together, then make a well in the center.
Combine honey, applesauce, eggs, and melted butter.
Pour wet mixture into well of dry ingredients and stir well.
Pour into greased bread pan and bake @ 350* for 45 min. or until done.
Enjoy … Around here a loaf doesn’t last long!

2 thoughts on “>Applesauce Bread

  1. >Thanks for sharing this recipe. It looks really good. (We love applesauce too). My girls love to help me cook, so it will be a great activity for us to do together–thanks!!

  2. >Hi Sarah! I saw this recipe when I was checking out your blog after Lisa posted her Friday ideas…anyway it looks great and I’m excited to try it! I love your blog too by the way…it’s really interesting and very well done!

Leave a Reply

