>Breaking the Silence!

>I know it’s been a bit quiet around here on the blog. We’ve been keeping rather busy these days with all kinds of things like…

~Our garden … we’ve been enjoying a bounty of zucchini, squash, green beans and cucumbers … and our peppers and tomatoes are right around the corner. I’ve been freezing zucchini that we don’t use for some quick dinners post baby’s arrival.

Speaking of the garden … this is what happens when I don’t go out to pick things for 2 days …
On Friday this zucchini was hardly even in existence, but by Sunday night … yikes!


Of course, I have the perfect recipe for those neglected monster zucchini’s …

Chicken Stuffed Zucchini
~2 chicken breasts (or about 5 tenders), cut into bite size pieces
~1 large zucchini
~1 onion, chopped
~3 T. parsley
~2 garlic cloves, minced
~1/2 tsp. salt
~1/4 tsp. pepper
~3 T. olive oil
~2 c. of your favorite marinara sauce
~1 c. mozzarella cheese, shredded

Cut zucchini in half lengthwise. Scoop/cut out most of the zucchini in bite size pieces. Reserve shells for later.
Heat large skillet with olive oil over med. heat. Add chicken, pieces of zucchini, onion, parsley, garlic, salt and pepper.
Cook, stirring frequently for about 5-7 minutes until chicken is tender and veggies are opague.
Blend in 1/2 of marinara sauce with chicken mixture.
Put into zucchini shells, then top with remaining marinara sauce.
Bake @ 350* for 20 min., then top with cheese and bake for another 10 min.

~VBS … this week our church is hosting Vacation Bible School. So every morning from about 9 a.m. – Noon the kiddos and I are over there. This year I’m serving as a teacher which has been a lot of fun. They included 4 year olds this year … so Justin was excited that he gets to participate along with Hailey. And of course Sydney is having a blast in the nursery.

~Softball … the church softball team is currently making an impressive run in the playoffs … they haven’t lost yet, and will be playing in the championship game on Thursday night. Since it’s double loss elimination, it could possibly be a double header depending on what happens with the first game (if we lose) … should be a fun night!

~School prep … with baby #4 due in October, I’m planning to start school with Hailey in August … so I’ve been spending time getting everything together and starting to get some lesson planning done.

~Third trimester joys … the reality of baby coming is setting in which means more to do in preparation, a potty break during the night (at least I held out this long!), frequent charley horse cramps in my legs during the night (and yes I’m drinking lots of water, getting plenty of calcium, eating a banana every night, staying active, sleeping on my left side and stretching my calves for anyone who is wondering!), talks about what to name this little one, and a bigger belly (go figure!).

~Dr. appointments … between the dentist, chiropractor, baby appointments, ultrasounds and bloodwork I’ve had plenty to keep me busy.

~We also enjoyed a day at our friends cabin over the weekend which is always a lot of fun and the kiddos love getting to play outside and go to the lake.

And lastly … here are a couple random pics of Justin and Sydney for all of you picture lovers … Hailey spent 5 days with Grandad and Grandma recently, and my camera hasn’t been too active these days, thus the reason these are just of our 2 littlest kiddos …



4 thoughts on “>Breaking the Silence!

  1. >I started a garden this year for the first time. It is so much fun to see the veggies grow. Next year I am going to do a bigger garden. We just did green bean, cucumber, tomatoes, and melons. Just so you know this is Lisa Landis Sister Sarah

  2. >thanks for the pictures….I think I’m going to order my new lens today, so hopefuly I will be able to get some good pics of your kids this weekend!!!!!love ya,~k~

  3. >Sounds like you aren’t interested in suggestions but I can’t help myself. I used a combination of Calcium and Magnesium for the charley horse cramps that I had with Grace. I never had them since. Use the liquid caps, they absorb better. Your kiddos look they are having a blast in the pool. Do you get to get in yourself? I bet that would feel great!

  4. >Thanks, Christy! I’m actually very open to other suggestions as to what else I can do … I just figured I would mention everything I am already doing! I’ll e-mail you to get more info. on how much extra calcium and magnesium I should take.And yes, I thoroughly enjoy floating around on a raft while the kiddos swim!

Leave a Reply

