>Homemade Bagels

>The kiddos and I made some yummy homemade bagels this morning.
Here’s the recipe in case anyone wants to give it a try!

Homemade Bagels
~1 1/2 c. warm water
~2 1/4 tsp. yeast (or one packet)
~1/4 c. honey
~2 tsp. salt
~4 – 4 1/2 c. freshly ground whole wheat flour (I use prairie gold hard white wheat)
~water for boiling, plus 1 T. baking soda
~1 egg white, beaten
~1 T. water
~Toppings (optional): cinnamon and/or raisins, poppy seeds, onion, garlic, sesame seeds, dried blueberries, etc.

*In small bowl, mix yeast, honey and warm water together – let sit 3 minutes.
*Mix 2 c. flour w/ salt in lg. bowl (I use my mixer bowl since I often let my bosch do the kneading for me), then add yeast mixture; stir to combine and slowly mix in rest of flour, adding enough to make a nice, smooth dough.
*Knead dough for 5 minutes on floured surface, adding additional flour if necessary (as mentioned above, I use my bosch mixer to make the dough typically). Dough should be smooth and firm. Place in greased bowl, cover and let rise until double (or place bowl in refrigerator overnight to make bagels in the morning).
*Punch down dough**, divide and shape into 8-12 balls (8 for regular bagels, more for smaller, mini bagels), then let balls rest for 10 minutes.
**Note: if adding cinnamon/raisins, blueberries or other mix-ins you will want to add them when you punch down the dough; knead just to combine.
*Boil 2 qts. of water with 1 T. baking soda.
*White water is coming to a boil, make a hole in center of each ball and pull about 2″ apart (be sure to make the hole nice and big as it will get much smaller!) – place on cookie sheet and let rest for 20 min. 
*Preheat oven to 350*
*Drop 2-3 bagels in boiling water at a time for 1 min., turning over halfway through so that each side gets 30 seconds (note: begin with bagels that have been resting the longest).
*Drain on wire rack. Place bagels on cookie sheet sprinkled with corn meal to prevent sticking (or just use a stone like I do), then top with egg white mixed with 1 T. water and any toppings desired (poppy seeds, sesame seeds, onion, garlic, etc.).
*Bake for about 30 min., turning halfway through baking time (unless using toppings, then don’t turn over).
*Note: I double this recipe since I like to freeze the bagels as well.

Here are some pics that I took during the process …

Balls of dough …

I let the kids poke the holes in the center (then I fix them a bit!) …
In the boiling water …
All ready to go in the oven …
Fresh out of the oven … yummy!

As you can see, this time I just made plain whole wheat bagels, but the kiddos also love cinnamon raisin bagels. Personally, I enjoy blueberry bagels! I often split the dough and then make half of one kind, and half of another. I froze a dozen from today’s batch for vacation coming up!

One thought on “>Homemade Bagels

Leave a Reply

