>my life.

>My days are somewhat crazy, chaotic and mundane these days. I feel like I pretty much do the same thing all day long, every day. Things like making breakfast, cleaning up messes, homeschooling the older kiddos, training a toddler, caring for a baby, making lunch, cleaning up more messes, keeping said toddler out of trouble, doing more school, wearing said baby on my hip when she’s a crank, making dinner, and then welcoming home my wonderful hubby with joy, kisses and any extra energy I have!

I’m more convinced than ever that being a mom is really all about my own personal sanctification process. It is in these daily, mundane moments that I know God is after my heart in so many different ways. Here are some things I’ve been learning and reminding myself of recently …

1. I need to be dependent on God each and every day. “In the end, our highest goal each day is not flawless execution of our plans or increased productivity. It’s our relationship with God, walking in dependence upon Him throughout the day. We should not be more consumed with the completion of our to-do list than pleasing and glorifying the Savior. Whether we’re sitting down to map out our day, simplifying our to-do list, or receiving an interruption as a “sovereign delivery,” we must, above all, plan to depend.” Carolyn Mahaney

2. I need to grow in patience. “Impatience is a form of unbelief. It’s what we begin to feel when we start to doubt the wisdom of God’s guidance. It springs up in our hearts when our plan is interrupted or shattered. The opposite of impatience is not a glib denial of loss. It’s a deepening, ripening, peaceful willingness to wait for God in the unplanned place of obedience, and to walk with God at the unplanned pace of obedience – to wait in his place, and go at his pace. And the key is faith in future grace. … the strength of patience hangs on our capacity to believe that God is up on something good for us in all our delays and detours. This requires great faith in future grace, because the evidence is seldom evident.” John Piper

3. I need to remind myself of what I deserve; I have been given so much more than I deserve. “Jesus died as my substitute. He went to the cross in my place. Therefore, the cross proclaims this truth: I deserve crucifixion. I don’t deserve good things from God. Anything short of crucifixion is infinite grace bestowed by a loving God on someone utterly unworthy. The cross not only removes just punishment, it brings all joy … so, rejoice! No matter how bad your circumstances, you are getting better than you deserve. Anyone who sees self-pity through the lens of the cross will increasingly detest this sin and flee it. The alternative to the self-imposed misery of self-pity is God-given joy and thankfulness.” William Farley

4. I need to daily remind myself of my primary responsibilities as a mom:
~Use every opportunity to point my children to their need for Christ
~Train them to obey God by honoring and obeying their parents
~Teach them wisdom
~Train them in righteousness
~Pray for them
~Be a godly example

*This means that it is ok when the house doesn’t look perfect, the laundry isn’t caught up, the kitchen floor is sticky and we have breakfast for dinner (for the 2nd time in one week).

He will tend to his flock like a shepherd; he will gather the lambs in his arms; he will carry them in his bosom,and gently lead those that are with young. Isaiah 40:11

I am so thankful for my daily portion of grace.

One thought on “>my life.

  1. >Love this, Sarah! God knew I needed these words of encouragement as I face challenging days of motherhood in these early years. 🙂 Can't wait to come visit you soon!

Leave a Reply

