thankfulness and joy.

One of my favorite parts about fall and November is the reminder of all that I have to be thankful for.  Every year, the kids and I enjoy different activities and crafts to celebrate this season of giving thanks and while I am grateful for the extra emphasis on thanksgiving this time of the year, my desire is that we learn to be a family who gives thanks every moment of every day.  I was also once again reminded how easy it is for me to complain and grumble about the very things that I am most grateful for. 

I’m thankful for a large, warm home – but do I really need to clean the bathrooms again, sweep, and mop the kitchen floors again.

I’m thankful that our kiddos have been blessed with many books, toys, crafts and dress-up – but really, when will they learn to pick up after themselves so that I don’t have to be the one picking up their messes, again.

I’m thankful that we are able to eat 3 meals every day (plus snacks) – but finding the time to make all of the meals, snacks and also clean up from breakfast, lunch and dinner; well, I’m not always so thankful for that part … and then there is the dishes.

I’m thankful that we all have clothes to wear – but seriously, wasn’t I just caught up with the laundry yesterday and yet somehow there are 2 more loads today.

I’m thankful that God has provided my husband with a wonderful job so that I can stay at home – but another late night or another business trip … not always so thankful.

I’m thankful for my 5 wonderful kiddos – but could they maybe fight less, stop whining/crying, lower the noise level just a little, and maybe, just once allow me to use the bathroom alone.

I’m thankful that my baby girl loves me and loves to snuggle – but could she maybe be just a little less attached to my hip.

I could keep on going, but you get the idea.  Oh, how I desire to grow in being filled with joy, every moment of every day amidst the mundane, tedious moments.  I’m well aware that part of being a mom is having everything you do get un-done and I pray that in those moments my joy would increase. 

My prayer is that I would grow in giving thanks, especially in those moments when I am tempted to grumble, complain and become exasperated.  I pray that peace and thankfulness would reign over our home.

And now … time to get back to our Thankful Turkey Craft!

One thought on “thankfulness and joy.

  1. I appreciate your honesty, my dear daughter… I can relate! We have so much to be thankful for! I do want to commend you for your consistent example, your encouragement and your desire to teach your children to be grateful. I often hear them express thankfulness, especially your three oldest kiddos…and they will be excellent examples to their little sisters, I’m sure! Keep teaching them; they are learning as they listen and watch YOU! …Do not grow weary in doing good, for in due season, you will reap if you do not give up….Galatians 6:9
    Love ya, Mom

Leave a Reply

