Summertime

Since I neglected to put up a single post this entire summer (until today – 3 Alaska posts plus this one might be a new record, ha!) I thought I would show a glimpse into what we have been up to.

While we were spending 2 weeks in Alaska, the best Mimi (and Gramps, but we all know Mimi did 99% of the work!) ever watched our precious kiddos.  She made memories, loved on our kiddos, was patient, did special things with them, and made our time away a joy for us.  It took about a month for them to stop calling me “Mimi” but I am ok with that!  We are so incredibly blessed to have parents who will watch our kiddos for such long periods of time so that we can get away.  We know not everyone has this blessing and don’t take it for granted. We are blessed and so are our kiddos! 
girlies slide

Tea party at Mimi’s housetea party

Gramps and Mimi braved the rain for the local parade with the kiddos on July 4th!
skippack parade 01

skippack parade 02

And took them to see fireworks!
finale fireworks

Emma picked some flowers for us while we were away (and informed us that she is getting married)!
emma flowers

Before we left for Alaska, Justin’s baseball team won the championship!
bball 02

After we got back from Alaska, me and the kiddos dressed like cows for free Chick-fil-A food.
chickfila 01

chickfila 02

chickfila 03

On hot days we swim at our next door neighbor’s house.
swimming

While the big kiddos were away at the grandparents Emma was my buddy … and she also beat me at “I Spy.”
emma game

I missed my big kid helpers, but at least Emma is cute!  We have been busy freezing zukes, making pickles from cukes, freezing green peppers, making BLT’s with garden fresh tomatoes, and eating lots of fresh food from the garden!
emma garden

I was happy to have my big kids back home!
garden

Emma and Callie love to climb this little tree.
girlies tree

Sydney takes a morning walk or bike ride across the street every morning to visit her horse friends, Cody and Angie. Our kind neighbor lets them pet the horses, help clean them, brush them, give them treats, ride them, and spend as much time as they want climbing on the fence to visit them!
sydney horse

Brian’s brother, Derek, and his fiance, Joy, came for a visit to play some doubles tennis and to ask Callie and Emma to be their flower girls.  We had a blast and the little girlies are absolutely thrilled (and eagerly anticipating March)!
tennis

Emma got bike lessons from Daddy … kiddos #5 on a 2 wheeler.
emma bike

Emma turned 4!
em bday 02

She got new pig pj’s from Mimi … a big deal when you are girlie #4 and new pj’s are rare!
em bday 01

And last but not least, we started school!
first day of school

Although we don’t start Classical Conversations until the Monday after Labor Day, we are gradually getting back into a routine around here.  Because of that, don’t be too surprised if another couple of months goes by without a post!  I need to learn the art of short and sweet posts.  I am hoping to get up a school post showing our schoolroom, some favorite supplies, and what we are using this year for school.  However, that post will not be short and sweet so who knows when and if it will happen!

One thought on “Summertime

  1. I just caught up on all your posts – I haven’t been in “blog world” for a while and when I opened Feedly I saw you had FOUR new ones!?!
    looks like you guys had an awesome summer – the pics of Alaska are AMAZING. hoping Fall is just as fun…in it’s own and different way 😉

Leave a comment